New schedule

My apologies for disappearing for 48 hours, real life smacked me upside the head.

Leaving that aside, one of the things that I’ve learned about this blog thingamajig after working on it for a month is that it takes about 3 hours a day (sometimes more) to put up 5-10 interesting, somewhat articulate posts.  While I enjoy the process, it’s taking time away from other things that are more important, so I’m going to be experimenting with ways to trim back on time devoted to it.

One of the immediate things I’m going to be doing is cutting some stuff from my newsfeed (as painful as that is for me).  This will include CNET, Wired, Engadget, Slashdot, and PhysOrg, to name a few.  I’ll put links to the sites that I’m not going to use into a single page, if you want to see recommendations for useful (and very big) news sites.  Another thing I’m going to try is switching to a weekly update schedule, rather than a daily one, allowing me to skip a day or two and then catch up later without feeling like I’m playing hooky.

So that’s the plan.  Big updates on the weekends, not so much in the middle of the week, and I’m cutting some of the bigger sites from my list.  We’ll see if this reduces the workload to something I can manage for more than a month at a time, and whether it messes with the quality of my postings.

So, till I spam your inboxes/rss feeds next, I’ll leave you with this:  http://techcrunch.com/2012/01/27/a-really-nice-flying-ornithopter-video-for-your-friday-enjoyment/

Leave a comment

Filed under Administrative

Leave a Reply

